Category Archives: Legal

What Happens With Your License After A DUI Arrest In Seattle, WA

From state to state, DUI punishments and sentences diverse as indicated by state laws. A few states have harder fines, longer permit suspensions or additional time in prison than others. Normally sentences rely on whether the litigant is a first time or consistent wrongdoer. Washington state is like different states in that fines, correctional facility or jail time and permits suspension or revocation enormously relies on upon the quantity of past DUI arrests. The sort of prior charges can likewise have an influence in the sentence a judge decides, as past attempt at manslaughter or vehicular homicide accusations would affect the sentencing. For people living in urban areas, for example, Seattle, permit suspension or revocation is likely on the off chance that they are arrested and indicted a DUI, yet the duration of time changes from case to case.

In Washington state, drivers frequently confront suspensions or repudiations when they are at first arrested and when they are raised on charges. The measure of time their licenses are suspended or denied additionally relies on upon whether they agree to breath or blood tests for their blood liquor content. Drivers that decline to take the test typically get longer denials or suspensions. Grown-ups more than 21 with a BAC of 0.08 or higher and youth under 18 with a BAC of 0.02 or above can get anyplace from a year to four years suspension or revocation, contingent upon some previous offenses. Now and again drivers can get a start interlock gadget.

When drivers’ licenses have been suspended or disavowed, they have an opportunity to contend for reestablishment amid a hearing, which must occur within 20 days of the arrest. They have to ask for a hearing to challenge a suspended or disavowed permit. Regardless of the possibility that they can get their licenses reestablished, drivers can even now confront an extra permit repudiation or suspension and additionally fines or correctional facility or jail time on the off chance that they are sentenced DUI accusations.

At the point when confronted with DUI accusations, litigants keen on having their licenses restored need to make a point to document printed evidence inside the state’s 20-day time allotment. Amid the arrest, it is essential that they clutch any written evidence from cops, including permit repudiations. People intrigued by a start interlock gadget need to make a point to make a demand, either directly after the arrest or initial denial or suspension hearing.

A Seattle DUI defense attorney with experience dealing with DUI cases can regularly help litigants to have their charges lessened, or cases rejected totally. In DUI cases, defense groups usually fight the inconclusive results of field sobriety tests, the presence of liquor in mouthwash or different substances, an instance of “mouth liquor” or ill-advised organization of breath or blood testing as DUI defenses. With the assistance of an attorney, a respondent might have the capacity to get printed material to show irregularities or mistakes with moderation or breath tests.

How Much Money Can I Get After Being Involved In A Truck Accident in Vancouver, WA

Business vehicles are on the road for plenty hours a day, seeking to reach their destination on time. Drivers regularly drive fatigued and can be overloaded, each of which can lead to injuries. Automobile drivers who are struck by a commercial truck typically sustained very severe injuries, because of the size and weight of the truck. Luckily, personal injury laws provide truck accident victims with a way to attain compensation if they’re injured because of the negligence of a business truck driver or truck manufacturer.

Truck accident reasons

There are numerous different causes wherein industrial truck injuries can occur. However, a few are more likely to arise than others. The most prevalent truck accident reasons include:

  • Driving While Fatigued
  • Operating The Truck While Under The Influence Of Drugs Or Alcohol
  • Speeding
  • Failure To Yield The Right Of Way
  • Driving Overloaded
  • Operating A Defective Truck

How Much Is Your Case Worth?

While it is hard to know precisely how much your injuries are worth, regardless of, a lawyer can help you figure out which injuries you may be granted on the off chance that you submit a truck accident claim. A few injuries truck accident victims might have the potential to acquire are:

  • Ambulance Transportation Fees
  • Cost Of Emergency Room Care
  • Hospital Bills
  • Ongoing Doctor Bills
  • Therapy Costs
  • Transportation To Doctor Visits Or Rehab
  • Emotional Distress
  • Pain And Suffering
  • Loss Of Quality Of Life
  • Loss Of Consortium

On the off chance that you were permanently disabled because of the truck accident and can’t come back to work, you might be qualified for future lost wages. Since these computations must be exact, it is best to have a professional truck accident lawyer to speak to you.

Being harmed in a truck accident is one of the most unnerving and difficult times of your life. On the off chance that you have been harmed in Washington State, contact a professional truck accident lawyer from the law offices of Caron, Colven, Robison & Shafton to schedule your free legal consultation where you will learn whether you are entitled to obtain financial compensation for damages suffered as a result of a truck accident caused by another driver’s negligence.

What To Do If You Are Injured in a Tacoma Car Crash

Car collisions are the most common accidents resulting in death and serious injuries in any given year. According to the National Highway Safety Transportation Administration report of 2007, 2,575,000 motorists and non-motorists sustained injuries from traffic related accidents while 42,642 lost their lives in 2006. Negligent drivers in Tacoma are the primary reason for highway accidents particularly because of flaunting traffic rules such as speeding, eating or using a phone while driving, playing loud music while driving or traveling with unruly children. Other causes of car accidents include highway construction, faulty equipment, and tires, weather conditions like ice and snow or wildlife on the road. If you are involved in a car injury in Tacoma, read on to understand what measures you should take.

Seek Medical Attention

The first step you should take after sustaining injuries in a car accident is to seek or ask for medical attention. Getting medical attention strengthens your claim. If you go for medical attention later, it will be difficult for you to ascertain that your injuries were caused by the car accident.

Take Notes and Photos

Ensure you keep all the records –receipts, referrals, and other documents- associated with your treatment. Taking notes of your injuries, the doctor who attends to you and photos of your injuries will help you when seeking compensation from your insurance company.

Don’t Admit Fault

You may feel like apologizing for the accident when at the scene of the incidence or admitting fault to your insurance agent. Taking such actions will ruin your claim. Instead of admitting fault, secure a police report and provide a detailed description of the car accident backed by photos.

Avoid Other Mistakes

Though you may be capable of being reimbursed, several mistakes can ruin your claim. Some of these tips can help you secure a fair settlement:

• Never settle until you finish your medical treatment, and your injuries are healed. Otherwise, you risk getting a less than fair compensation for your injuries.
• Never sign checks or release forms until you are prepared to settle. Signing these forms will relieve your insurance company from the liability of paying you any additional claims.
• Do not talk about the case to anyone except your lawyer. Anything you say can be easily used against you by the defense.

Hire a Lawyer

To navigate the complicated process of a personal injury claim, it is advisable to hire an attorney. Your injury lawyer will educate you about your rights and the compensation you are likely to receive from the claim. If you looking for more information on how an attorney can help you visit www.attorneytacomawa.net.

How a Irvine California Personal Injury Attorney Can Help Protect Your Rights

The California Highway Patrol reported 156,909 accidents resulting in injury per their latest released Statewide Annual Report of Fatal and Injury Motor Vehicle Traffic Collisions. If you’ve been affected by a car, truck or motorcycle accident in California, it’s vital that you contact a personal injury attorney as soon as possible. Only a personal injury attorney specializing in California vehicle accidents can ensure that you get the full benefit of your legal rights.

The California statute of limitations for filing a personal injury claim is two years from the date of the injury. Many people mistakenly believe that the statute of limitations starts running from the time you discover the injury. You must take action immediately on behalf of yourself or your injured family member to make certain that you have the financial means to deal with any medical complications that arise in the future.

If you’ve lost a family member to a car accident caused by someone else’s negligence, the two-year statute of limitations also applies. You have final expenses that can wipe you out financially. You must pay the bills and buy groceries while medical bills arrive daily. The last thing that you want to think about is dealing with attorneys, but it’s necessary to protect you and your family. Guldjian Law is experienced in dealing with personal injury and wrongful death cases related to car accidents in California. We can help make your life easier by getting you the money to which you are entitled.

Any motor vehicle accident can result in death, serious injury or permanent disability. “Minor” injuries can keep you from returning to work or school for weeks or months. You may be denied disability even though you’re physically incapable of working. Injuries that seem to heal quickly can cause arthritis or other disabling conditions when you get older. The other party’s insurance company has lawyers that will contact you at home or even come to the hospital and try to convince you to settle the case. The amount of money may sound like enough at the time but will run out quickly. If you’ve lost a family member, you may receive a large sum in a wrongful death suit. If you agree to a settlement, you sign away your rights.

Don’t sign anything before speaking to an experienced personal injury attorney at Guldjian Law. We can tell you if you have a case and how much you may receive if you choose to file suit. Contact us today so that we can help you.

What You Need to Know About DUI Laws in Virginia

In Virginia, a person is driving under the influence (DUI) if they are over the age of 21 and operate a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher. Drivers under 21 years old must have BAC under 0.02 percent, according to DMV.org.

A driver with extremely high BAC levels over 0.15 percent faces additional jail time. Courts impose harsher penalties for each additional DUI conviction. A first-time offender faces a mandatory minimum $250 fine a one-year driver’s license suspension. For the second DUI conviction, a driver may have his license revoked for three years in addition to paying a mandatory minimum $500 fine and serving up to one year in jail. Additional DUI convictions have harsher penalties, and Virginia provides this information in its online pamphlet “Virginia is Tough” at dmv.virginia.gov.

A driver in Virginia may not request a blood test instead of a breath test. He may refuse to take the breath test but may be charged with a Class 2 misdemeanor. If he has had two previous DUI convictions or one previous breath test refusal conviction within the last ten years, he may be charged with a Class 1 misdemeanor and have his license suspended for three years.

A driver must also be aware of other driving and alcohol-related crimes in Virginia. These include driving with an open alcohol container in the vehicle’s passenger area and driving while impaired with a passenger under the age of 17. A driver may be charged with vehicular manslaughter if he kills another person while driving under the influence. If a driver has his license suspended for DUI and he is caught driving, he may have his vehicle impounded for up to 90 days.

Virginia takes DUI offenses very seriously, and a driver charged with a DUI offense needs good legal representation to help him successfully navigate the court system, especially if he does not plan to plead guilty. The driver should consult with an experienced DUI attorney soon after his arrest. In some cases, the prosecutor may offer the driver the option to plead guilty to a lesser charge, such as reckless driving. An experienced attorney can negotiate this plea deal or argue the driver’s case in court. Legal representation may mean the difference between a DUI conviction or a not guilty decision by a jury.

Fatal Auto / Pedestrian Crash in Portland

An elderly Portland, Oregon women riding a motorized scooter was killed when she was hit by another elderly women driving an SUV.

The driver of the vehicle is cooperating with investigators and no other details have been released at this time.

Unfortunate accidents like this occur frequently and have life changing consequences for all parties involved.  If you’ve been injured because of someone else’s negligence, it is important to talk with an experienced Portland auto accident attorney as soon as possible to ensure your legal rights are protected.